12 replies to this topic

#1 OutKTheK

OutKTheK

Junior-Varsity

• PipPip
  • 11 posts
Okay

Posted 07 November 2017 - 09:00 AM

I've created a Baudrillard negative for Big Questions (not that I'll ever find a judge who can understand it), and since I'm pretty new to Baudrillard in general I'm wondering whether it would work. Keep in mind that I'm a policy debater and that it's structured much like a policy neg would be structured, and since BQ is basically just the antithesis of policy, this probably isn't a great neg to run. I decided to write it because I'm interested in Baudrillard and I really want to understand his arguments so I can run and beat Baudrillard args in policy.

Basically, I cut the Animals, an entire chapter of Baudrillard's Simulacra and Simulations. What he says (or what I think he says rather) is humans consider animals to be inferior and different to humans because of their endorsement of the hyperreality. More specifically, they use the fact that animals are unconscious as a reason that humans are better than animals, when in fact we used to be unconscious too. He cites the Levi-Strauss experiment, which had the result of pointing out human and animal brain structures are remarkably similar, if not almost the exact same. How I'd use Baudrillard's arguments is as both a critique and an actual case neg. It basically just shits on the sample affirmative given, which literally just cites a bunch of arguments centered around human reasoning.