Jump to content

PhoenixWright

Member
  • Content Count

    6
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About PhoenixWright

  • Rank
    Novice

Profile Information

  • Name
    Phoenix
  1. Hi, Brad. Have a nice day. :)

  2. Thanks! Are there any arguments that can be read against teams who write the "wE dO NoT eNdOrSe tHiS LaNgUaGe" but then read problematic language? Because it honestly irks me when people are too lazy to actually make sure their evidence is not deragatory, and uses offensive language in a debate space under the notion of "wELl We sPEcIfiEd wE dOn'T enDOrSe it."
  3. Hey, all! I recently had the opportunity to watch a whole lot of K debates--and many debaters won on flow but lost due to their language. I am all for Kritikal debate, and I'm generally not one to laugh at the "pettiness" of some Kritiks. In one round, though, one of affirmative's taglines said "Excessive education spending doesn't trigger econ collapse" and the negative read an Ableism argument. In another, a team said "that argument is dumb," in the 1AR and was slapped in the face by an Ableism 2NR. I feel like there are a lot of misconceptions about what language is permissable and what is not in a debate space. Is there a full list anywhere of all of the offensive language that should not be used in the debate space? Thanks!
  4. Just to clarify, yes, one judge voted affirmative, and two voted negative (I was affirmative). One of the judges that voted negative wrote on the ballot "I voted negative due to affirmative's lack of a partner" so to answer all of your questions, the round was decided in regards to the fact that I mavericked.
  5. Haha...like anyone will ever read this.

  6. Hey, all! So I'm a novice...a policy novice...whoop. Saturday we had a debate tournament. It was my team's first time breaking, and we made it past semi-finals, to finals! My partner didn't think we would break, so they were already set to leave before semi's. My partner got permission from their parents to stay one more round, but REALLY needed to leave after that. They convinced me it was fine, though, because we wouldn't make it to finals anyway. You know where this is going...we made it to finals. So not only was it my first time mavericking, but it was also my first time in finals...yay. It ended up going really well, though. I went against a team known for making their opponents cry during cross-ex, so I actually feel like it went well! My 2AR was probably the best I've ever given (I usually give that speech, anyway) and all of the viewers said I won. I was able to prove that there was no link to their disadvantage or counterplan, and won on topicality for both. Which, brings me to the point of this insanely long post...can I still win a finals round if I maverick? Because my team (ME) ended up taking second, but most people thought I should have won. One of my judges shook my hand after awards and said "I'm sorry. You would have won, but..." in reference to my lack of a partner. Is this debate-legal, to make someone lose strictly because they mavericked?
  7. Hey, all! So I'm a novice...a policy novice...whoop. Saturday we had a debate tournament. It was my team's first time breaking, and we made it past semi-finals, to finals! My partner didn't think we would break, so they were already set to leave before semi's. My partner got permission from their parents to stay one more round, but REALLY needed to leave after that. They convinced me it was fine, though, because we wouldn't make it to finals anyway. You know where this is going...we made it to finals. So not only was it my first time mavericking, but it was also my first time in finals...yay. It ended up going really well, though. I went against a team known for making their opponents cry during cross-ex, so I actually feel like it went well! My 2AR was probably the best I've ever given (I usually give that speech, anyway) and all of the viewers said I won. I was able to prove that there was no link to their disadvantage or counterplan, and won on topicality for both. Which, brings me to the point of this insanely long post...can I still win a finals round if I maverick? Because my team (ME) ended up taking second, but most people thought I should have won. One of my judges shook my hand after awards and said "I'm sorry. You would have won, but..." in reference to my lack of a partner. Is this debate-legal, to make someone lose strictly because they mavericked?
×
×
  • Create New...