Sign in to follow this  
Bushcheatedin2000

god help me should I lose the coin toss

I'm a novice in the National Forensics league this months topic in policy is

"Outsourcing jobs helps the U.S. economy" If me and partner lose the coin toss we're basically screwed unless we do something to the coin we use or get evidance that says outsourcing DOES help our economy so do you have any suggestions on where I should go?

First of all, that's the public forum topic for December. This month's is 'Resolved: The United States government should allow Americans to purchase prescription drugs from other countries.'

Secondly, get the rez right, it's: "Resolved: Corporate offshoring aids in the economic development of the United States."

Thirdly, wrong website. Most of us hate public forum/ted turner debate.

Outsourcing is what decreases the espense of every day items. As long as wages increase or stay the same, then outsourcing is fundamentally a good thing.

Its only bad when you are replacing the lost jobs with lower paying, less secure jobs which then lowers the standard of living across the board.

Outsourcing has been done for centuries to different degrees. If there were any significant negative impacts to outsourcing, we'd have already seen them. The fact that nations can continue to grow economically, increasing GDP year after year despite massive outsourcing attempts (what manufacturing does the US have anymore? :confused: )... is proof that outsourcing in a vacuum is not a red entry on the national economic balancesheet.

If you want to talk more on this... let me know... peace

Outsourcing is what decreases the espense of every day items. As long as wages increase or stay the same, then outsourcing is fundamentally a good thing.

If your standard is "buy more shit."

Its only bad when you are replacing the lost jobs with lower paying, less secure jobs which then lowers the standard of living across the board.