CloutCity2

Another Debate Struggle

I've never posted on here so I'll try my best to explain my situation.

I'm in my third year of policy debate at a pretty reputable debate school (not MBA level, but we usually have a team with a couple of bids every year). My team regularly competes on the national circuit and I've had aspirations to do so for a while now. However, I'm not that good at debate. Both the summer going into my sophomore and junior year of high school, I attended debate camp and I've worked pretty hard to get better since last spring (Spring of my sophomore year). I always liked debate, but I think somewhere in the middle/towards the end of my sophomore year I developed a real passion for it. What sucks the most though is that I am one of the worst on the team, and I see all my other debate teammates travel for national tournaments.

So, why do I suck so much? Well I'm kind of slow at answering arguments off the flow (I've written blocks and found that they do help, and I plan to continue this, but I don't think it gets at the root of my problem). I usually spend 5-6 minutes of Prep time in the 2NC prepping just the off case I'm going for, which means I barely prep the case. I tend to debate well when I go for a CP + DA (I would consider myself a policy hack) but I SUCK at going for Kritiks. This along with some other issues has made me question whether or not I should switch to being a 2A since I do pretty well when I go for things I'm comfortable with (debating case in the 1AR is usually pretty easy for me + I've given a 2AC before and I found that I did pretty well)

So I guess I'm asking for a couple of things:

1) I'm currently a 2N/1A. Do you think I should make the switch? Why or why not based on the info above? (if you need more context I can provide that)