BernieSanders

Using Machine Learning to automate card cutting/tagging?

i think this is a pretty good idea - there are a few posts about people trying to automate card-cutting on here, even going as far as to suggest a program could cut, say, daily politics updates for you on its own by programming it to use google news. however, i dont know if any of these initiatives really took off.

here's my thoughts on the individual ideas you have -

#1. this would be good, except i think you'd need a similarity standard before it compiles, just so you don't end up with "econ decline leads to war" and "no war - interdependence" in the same file. the standard and tech may already exist, i am by no means an expert in that field.

#2. go for it - you mentioned verbatim doing this but a. it cant highlight, so if that gets implemented that definitely gives you a leg up, and b. it underlines really poorly lol

#3. again, no expert with the technology, but i think the auto-tagging would have to be pretty rhetorically powerful, accurate, and concise - for instance, can automation understand the warrants in something as complex as baudrillard, and be able to reiterate them back via a tag? i have no idea, but its something to consider

In regards to formatting, perhaps base it off of the Verbatim macro settings?

I'm not an ML guy, but I like to lurk over their shoulders.

#1 sounds very viable and is a great idea.

#2 sounds maybe viable, but most text extractors I've seen used don't do a very good job. I know there are papers in which they do extremely well, but I haven't seen anything deployed in a commercial context that does well and so my inclination is to assume that the papers are taking advantage of especially convenient datasets or using lots of resources or something.

#3 doesn't sound viable at all to me, but if you think you can do this then go for it.