SapphoWilson

How to Write an amazing K

So, I've been working on writing a K for a couple months now for next year. I already have the basic stuff that makes it a runnable K, a good 1NC Shell, basic AT and AT Perms, a handy-dandy framework, and block extensions. This is good, but what can I do to make it great? :) 

know your lit base - successful critique debaters don't rely on cards or blocks, but on knowledge. make sure you're able to explain it cogently and quickly, even to someone who doesn't do debate - that will help refine your explanation skills and consolidate your word economy which is especially helpful if the lit base you're centered in is particularly dense.

• Upvote 2

-Become a nerd about the literature behind it like Kyler said

-Argue it in such a way that generic answers don't apply (saw this on someone's paradigm)

-Do practice debates using it

-Everything must be highlighted concisely

-Understandable taglines are better than long taglines

• Upvote 2

-Become a nerd about the literature behind it like Kyler said

-Argue it in such a way that generic answers don't apply (saw this on someone's paradigm)

-Do practice debates using it

-Everything must be highlighted concisely

-Understandable taglines are better than long taglines

Could you explain how to make generic answers not apply?

Could you explain how to make generic answers not apply?

Well I don't know what your Kritik is, but I'll use capitalism as an example.

Download the 1NC from this vdebate, and look at the Capitalism K.

https://www.cross-x.com/topic/60106-amrfudgefox-vs-nsnarkosaurusrex/

You'll notice that instead of a blanket criticism of capitalism, it's a distinction between "unregulated capitalism" and "regulated capitalism." Now, if a debater doesn't have a good 2AC to that distinction, they're going to paste "capitalism K 2AC" into their speech document and roll with it.