Nonegfiat

Biopower K aff

I want to write a biopower K aff for this topic. I know it would have been much better last year, but how feasible is it to relate it to this year's topic?

Like maybe we criticize biopower exercised by both the US and China? B/c with china's human rights issues i can see some connections. And of course the US has plenty of instances of biopower. It basically would be the reason we reject using the state and our framework is that we provide the best education. Does that all sound reasonable? (I've never written a K before)

Can anyone point me to any good authors to read (besides foucault and agamben, both of whom i have read) or be willing to share cards?

A possible structure is as follows:

A. The U.S. and China violate human rights and excercize biopolitics through areas such as prisons/detention, healthcare, and surveillance.

B. These issues are bad and violent and diminish the credibility and legitimacy of the governments.

C. Diplomatic connections and economic interdependence allow countries to restore credibility effectively masking these abuses.

D.

Either something like "Plan: the United States federal government should agree to end [the specific abuses your cards talk about] if and only if the People's Republic of China agrees to end [the specific abuses in China your evidence talks about]."

OR

Something like "We demand a critical analysis of biopolitics in international relations as a pre-condition to the United States federal government substantially increasing it's economic and/or diplomatic engagement with the People's Republic of China."

• Upvote 1

Thanks everyone, those are great ideas and I now have a much clearer direction for the argument. This is going to be my project over the thanksgiving break and I'm really looking forward to it.