Juan

Moving it up a notch... (From Novice to JV).

Hello, I was just wondering if someone could give me some information on how the move from Novice to JV is like. I think I get the basics but if someone could give me a top five list of big changes or something that would be great. I have spectated Varsity rounds but that is really it on terms of spectating.

Other than that I am a Novice debater who just finished the season and is moving up to JV. One of the best teams in or school and is usually the ones who et the travelling tournaments. Is there tips because I feel as if I may be slowing down my partner. When we started as rookies my partner said I was a faster/better speaker and I would be good for the 1AR so I did as so. They also love the 2N so I was chill with it. But now that I realise that the 2 is usually the captain of the team and gets higher speaks I am starting to feel a bit bad. Am I actually being legit right now or is this all a folkes tale? Also should I ask to be the 2 for one of the sides, if so which one would be best in my position at the moment. 

Also, do you recommend camp because I have heard about it but I only know about 1 person you actually does it that I know. What is the advantage of going to camp and is it actually worth it? How many weeks are recommended and just back on the note of transfer from Novice to JV. If I go to camp some people say that you get to skip JV. (Is it true and why). Thanks!

Sorry about that and If you could answer each paragraph (2 and 3) as a question that would be great.

• Upvote 1

For changes:

-depending on your region you may find yourself drowning in an ocean of Ks which never existed before- on AFF and NEG.

-you'll have to become a better debater technically- you must learn line by line- this is the best and I believe only way to debate.