kylerbuckner

How to: PIK/AIK

I am looking into writing some PIK's/AIK's whatever you wish to call them. (like a flat out hey plan can happen post alt world in the 1NC, not a one liner in the 2nc)

How would I go about writing a successful/good PIK? I have some evidence for it but how should it be structured, how do I know what to exclude etc. 

You need to be more specific as to what your argument says before we can help you construct one.

I would say the number one thing is that you should articulate as to what you want the PIK to look like and why it is uniquely better than just flat out rejecting the aff. 

Keep in mind that I have no experience running PIKs, nor any watching them ever being ran. This is one of the things that my coach hasn't taught me either, so sorry if I sound like an idiot explaining this, that's why. I have evidence that says the biopolitical death drive is fueled by the hatred for the queer other, so it would be something like alt is prereq to the aff. I am running QT vs. a policy aff. that has biopower, racism, and rights advantages. Should I just say K solves case rather than running a PIK?
  • Upvote 1

So just to be clear on what we're discussing, this will be a PIK in the sense like how policy debate does it, IE a fiated 'CP' with an advocacy text that's the plan minus something (I get that it's a K net benefit in this case).

First things first, what's your net benefit/what's the thesis of the PIK?

So to set this all up, you need to sit down and think about how this is going to compete with the plan. So the first question is if you know the difference between textual and functional competition?