goodatthis

Paperless Debate for iPad?

I'm a novice LDer (not that it matters that much for this question) and for the current topic (living wage) I realized the importance of blocks- lots of them. I have AT files for pretty much every stock issue novices run (luckily for me, not a whole lot), so about 10 files each for aff and neg, plus about 5 framework answers files. Normally, I'll just print them out, but as I've been growing the amount of files I have and as I'm constantly changing my prep, cases, blocks, etc, it takes too long to print out and I find myself printing stuff out constantly. And even when I use an expando, I find it hard to keep organized inround. I'd rather use my prep writing answers than sorting through papers.

So what I'm trying to ask is has anyone tried doing paperless debate with an iPad? I have an iPad 2 with a keyboard case, so it feels a little like a computer. What I really need is an app that can allow me to easily transition from file to file, without having to sort through folders or have wait times in between each transition. Or an app that allows me to view multiple docs at once. Dropbox is actually pretty good, like it has a sidebar for the documents, and you can quickly switch between them, but I was wondering if there is something better out there. I've been using Word to edit my stuff, btw.

Edit: does anyone know of any other programs besides verbatim for computers that will count the number of words in cards?

Edited by goodatthis
  • Upvote 2

Can't you just use a laptop?

Money. Gotta work with what I've got. I've thought about getting a really cheapo laptop, but I realized it's probably more worth it to get a laptop that will suit my needs overall much better, in which I'm not just using it as a debate platform. Plus I like Macs.

you could try out debate docs; I havent really used it yet so idunno how reliable it is though.