reptece

How to get good

Hello, this is my first year in policy and I want to get good. I was wondering how much dedication it takes to get good at debate, like how many hours do you people put in to debate a week? And how do you balance debate out with your school work? Any answer will help, thank you.

• Upvote 2

A lot

30-40+

I don't. Someone on the team has asked me about five times now if I ever do work for my classes. (I do, but jokes on them because I just write about Deleuze in my papers)

same 

• Upvote 3

You "get good" by working so much that you don't ever wanna work again and then you work some more. You're highlighting, researching, block-writing, etc pretty much all the time. I work a few hours every day. For the love of god though, do practice debates and speeches. All that other stuff won't help if you turn stupid the minute you enter a round. Trust me. Been there done that.

In summary, just work as hard as you can and put forth your best effort and make sure you don't fail all your classes in school. You at least need Ds, but you can finish with good grades if you become really good at pulling grades up at the end of the term like I do.(ace your finals, do bonus crap, make up the crap you missed from tournaments, etc) Also, be prepared to lose every bit of a social life you had with outsiders.

• Upvote 1

Honestly friend it takes a lot of passion and dedication. I can tell you hundreds of stories about how many times I've wanted to quit, but didn't.

I broke out of novice my 3rd tournament when I was a freshman. I've been debating varisty (or open) since. At Berkeley last year I had a huge shock bc I thought I was good and then when I was up against kids in varisty who really knew what they were doing, i got my butt handed to me all but one round.