Trevelan

Knocking debaters off their high horses...help needed

I have been coaching for several years now and every once in a while I'll get a talented debater that shows promise and ends up with a cocky attitude. The problem is that once they are on the high horse, instructing them becomes almost impossible. They fight my lectures and advice and end up learning absolutely nothing. Being a former debater I have solved this in the past by putting them in their "place" during a practice round but it becomes a 50/50 shot between them correcting their attitude and quitting. My current top ranked debater now occupies a seat on a very high horse and because of this has shown no improvement at all. With this particular case it becomes even more difficult due to the debater being fragile (insecurity wise) and I have gotten the silent treatment many times so far this year and the season is barely 4 months in.

What do I do?

What are my option?

Please help...I am officially out of ideas and quite lost.

• Upvote 1

Fundamental values of competition:

• Respect your opponent.  In sports, chess, and debate, this is a key part of competition.
  • Hard work beats talent.  Yes, you may be a good speaker, but if you don't take advice, improve your case, and research, you will get beat by the "slow and steady wins the race" team and their hard work.

Also, hold a practice debate against your best varsity team.  This person will learn, and realize there is always someone smarter, better, and more eloquent than you are.  This motivates a person to work hard and do their best.  Another humbling experience would be to match him/her with a much weaker debater, and have them teach and guide the novice in rounds. 

• Upvote 3
  • Downvote 1