reptece

Talking fast in rebuttals?

Hello, this is my first year in policy debate and I was wondering how the older debaters talk so fast in their rebuttals. I was hoping for some tips on how to spread in rebuttals as well, like, I have a lot of arguments in my head and I sort of know what to say but when I try to talk fast the info just gets lost and comes out as broken English have the time. :[ Any of you older debaters wanna give me some tips? Thanks for reading.

First, Practice. A lot. Try to do as many rounds as often as you can and the speed will come with familiarity. Familiarity is probably the single most important thing that can help you.The more familiar you are with your arguments, the more concise you will become which can help with speed.

Second, after every tournament, take your flows from every round that you lost, and give your rebuttals again and again until they are perfect. Turn them into rebuttals that would win you the round. This will help you learn your arguments better and it will help you learn to streamline important arguments so that you do not waste time. 

Don't get discouraged and the speed will come.

• Upvote 5

It just comes. Last year, I was a pretty terrible novice who just read Baudrillard blocks and won a bunch of tournaments. But, at the end of last year, I started... get this.... actually debating OFF (Without) MY BLOCKS! And it works too. At the state tournament, I beat the team that ended up winning the entire tournament. So, yeah, speed isn't important, understanding your arguments and not being reliant on blocks is important. Speed comes with understanding your arguments. Last year, I couldn't spread a rebuttal at all, but now it just comes naturally. 

Edited by CapitalismIsNotCool
  • Upvote 1