I've been flowing on paper for the past two years, and recently have had an urge to switch to flowing on my laptop. I have a template and all, I was just wondering if anyone had any tips or pointers to flowing electronically? Also, is it worth the switch to begin flowing on a laptop, or is good old fashion legal paper and pens the way to go? 

Paper and pens when debating, Laptop whenever I start judging novices, paper and pencil if I judge varsity when in college. (got a 2 year wait till judging novices) 

Paper and Pens are good for debate because 

1. You can draw arrows for cross-applications and write in answers and such

2. You can use your computer for pulling up evidence rather than alternating between flow and speech doc during a speech

Laptop when judging Novices

1. If you forget paper, it's annoying to have to ask them and sometimes they don't have enough flow paper.

2. Easier comparison because the debate WILL be somewhat messy in novice, there will NOT be a perfect line by line.

Paper and Pens (if) judging Varsity whilst in college

1. More cross applications, better line-by-lines

2. all of one part of one position will be done on that piece of paper (IE a CP debate), and won't be jumbled around like in a novice round because these people tend to signpost

• Upvote 3

I know people who do flow on paper, and I know people who flow on the computer. I personally prefer paper for a lot of the reasons TimeCube4Lyfe said above. Some other reasons is: Easier to do line by line and switch the order of the flows if you want to go for a different order (1nc was K DA case 2nc could be K Case DA), I also prefer flowing on paper because of all the short hand you can use. But with that said do whatever makes you feel comfortable.

What templates do people us e? Does anybody have some super awesome template they want to share?