pronk

Deleuze and Guttari affirmative

I am new to writing critical affirmatives and I was wondering if the community would like to help out writing this idea here is a card to get everyone started(I need help with this idea if anyone is willing to help please PM)

The sea is a prime example of smooth space that is slowly being entrenched by the striated

Deleuze and Guttari 87' (A Thousand Plateus Published by the University of Minnesota Press

111 Third Avenue South, Suite 290, Minneapolis, MN 55401-2520
Printed in the United States of America on acid-free paper)

This is where the very special problem of the sea enters in. For the sea is a
smooth space par excellence, and yet was the first to encounter the
demands of increasingly strict striation. The problem did not arise in prox-
imity to land. On the contrary, the striation of the sea was a result of naviga-
tion on the open water. Maritime space was striated as a function of two
astronomical and geographical gains: bearings, obtained by a set of calcula-
tions based on exact observation of the stars and the sun; and the map,
which intertwines meridians and parallels, longitudes and latitudes, plot-
ting regions known and unknown onto a grid (like a Mendeleyev table).
Must we accept the Portuguese argument and assign 1440 as the turning
point that marked the first decisive striation, and set the stage for the great
discoveries? Rather, we will follow Pierre Chaunu when he speaks of an
extended confrontation at sea between the smooth and the striated during
the course of which the striated progressively took hold.8 For before longi-
tude lines had been plotted, a very late development, there existed a com-
plex and empirical nomadic system of navigation based on the wind and
noise, the colors and sounds of the seas; then came a directional,
preastronomical or already astronomical, system of navigation employing
only latitude, in which there was no possibility of "taking one's bearings,"