cintrepid

What Camp to go to?

Hi,

I'm a freshman and its pretty much my first year in debate. I have debated this year in various tournaments, some in varsity and others in novice. Out of 2 novice tournaments in one i broke to finals but lost and the other I got 3rd novice speaker. I want to go to a camp this year but im not sure which camp to go to. Ive been told to go to Wake or Mndi but I want to hear about your suggestions. The camp has to offer a 2 week course or less.

Thanks

Samford is good it was my first camp, and the labs and lecture taught me a lot about debate. I'd personally recommend it if you're a novice going into your JV/Varsity year.

• Upvote 1

Wake is a really good camp.  A couple of guys from my school went there and then went to UTNIF and improved dramatically. I dont know how strict your 2 weeks or less category is, but if you could do 3 UTNIF skills is really good coming off your novice year.

• Upvote 2

I really like the samford idea, i was born across the street from it lol. Im going to Wake for sure but my coach says to go to another one too. I dont think samford has their website up yet for this year. My coach said id enjoy MNDI a lot but idk. my partner is going to uga this summer but i cant do wake then uga because its one right after the other.

Thanks for the responses

I'm a freshman novice debater and am going to the Sophomore division of the Michigan Classic. MNDI has a two week lab that's supposed to be good for Sophomores and such. I've heard it's better to go to a longer camp before you start varsity. 

GONZAGA GONZAGA GONZAGA

the lab leaders are great and you'll get a ton of individual attention. I'm a sophomore and went to Gonzaga and Wake last summer and got at least 11x better at camp (I wish I was kidding- I was REALLY bad before). 

• Upvote 2