cintrepid

What Computer to get?

Hi,

I just joined this forum right now lol. I am a novice debater (freshman in High School) and want to buy a computer for debate. In my school we use paperless debate so Word with verbatim. Right now I have a Macbook Air but without word but would rather buy a new one for debate and just to use for school. What computers do you guys suggest to get? What do you have? Where should i buy it? What brands are good and bad? I have hear lenovo computers are pretty good and so are acers. What do you guys think I should get??

Thanks!!

He says that because he doesn't own one :P  they are awesome actually, same with airs. In terms of cost efficiency though, he is right, stick with ASUS and Toshiba, the best bang for your buck laptops (and the most efficient for debate). Also- as a former Best Buy employee, I can tell you that any and all touchscreen laptops sold thereare absolute trash (Blue shirt tested, Blue shirt approved, seriously)

• Upvote 2

I must vehemently disagree with your notions of "high-end". Dual Core =/= high end.

This is high end:

http://www.xoticpc.com/msi-gt70-2od039us-dragon-edition-p-5771.html

4GB 780m and 3 SSD's.

The main thing for school and debate is battery life not power though. You never know hwen you won't be able to find a plug.

Right now I have a Macbook Air but without word but would rather buy a new one for debate and just to use for school. What computers do you guys suggest to get? What do you have? Where should i buy it? What brands are good and bad? I have hear lenovo computers are pretty good and so are acers. What do you guys think I should get??

First, the language you are using suggests this is just something you want.  Your MacBook Air should be more than sufficient.