Dust46

What To Expect When Running A K Aff In Ld?

Hey guys,

I've been doing policy for a couple of years but this year i just wanted to try LD for a couple of tournaments. Im in the Cali circuit and intend to run a K aff at Presentation and CPS this year. Alot of LD kids at my school tell me that running a K aff in LD is very different than running it in Policy. What's really different? Is there anyone else that ran a K aff in LD and can tell me their experience? I know that LD has alot more theory and that some judges aren't open to it but other than those stuff, is there anything else to expect? 

Also on a side note, i also intend to go 1 off K when i'm neg. How does that work out in LD? 

Thanks in advance for all responses 

The thread here is about a very similar question. I've copied what IMO are the best answers.

I suggest you search the site. There are some very good lectures on Ks that I'm sure have been posted (though I'm not positive how good the generic lectures will be, the specific ones at least are often great). Although these will have been made with policy debate in mind, most everything should still be applicable.

There are two main exceptions that I can think of:

1. You'll need to have a stronger philosophical grounding of your AC than in policy debate. Your AC is your lifeblood in LD because after that you are debating from behind in terms of speaking times. Being able to get as much power as you can out of those first 6 minutes is absolutely critical. That means that you need an AC which can respond to a HUGE variety of possible NCs or Ks, and to have a strong offensive justification for each part of your case.

Generally, my preferred method of making a broadly useful AC is to