traven

Spreading Speeds

I am a sophomore in highschool and next year I plan on debating in most big pacific area tournaments. Currently my spreading speed is about 300wpm give or take about 25wpm depending on the card. About how fast is the average wpm while spreading at flow tournaments?

also: I am registered for the 3 week policy camp at Berkeley this summer, will my speeds increase while I am there? 

how fast is the average wpm while spreading at flow tournaments?

300? i dont think anybody counts the words per minutes coming out of their mouths

will my speeds increase while I am there? 

it's not like you show up at berkeley and feldman imbues you with epic debate power (as awesome as that might sound). you have to work hard/ do speaking drills. your speed only increases as long as you practice. also clarity > incomprehensible speed. 

300? i dont think anybody counts the words per minutes coming out of their mouths

I think most people have an estimate of how fast they go. As in - spread for 60 seconds and count the words, and judge if that was "normal" for you or not. I've not done this in a little while though so I've no idea how fast I personally am, except that I'm slower than most.

it's not like you show up at berkeley and feldman imbues you with epic debate power (as awesome as that might sound). you have to work hard/ do speaking drills. your speed only increases as long as you practice. also clarity > incomprehensible speed. 

I understand that feldman isn't going to make me a debate genius, what the question was is if i'm going to learn how to spread while i'm there. i.e: mini lab on spreading (never been to debate camp, so I don't really know what to expect)

"Speed is the number of ideas effectively communicated per minute that the judge expects the opponent to respond to"— Jarrod Atchison

Ergo......Smart + Clear beats fast.