Sign in to follow this  
dkim

Kritikal Literature

hey, I have some experience with answering kritiks, but want to learn how to run them. I know I will learn how to at camp, but I was wondering if anyone knew some good kritikal literature that would be helpful for me to read. Someone has recommended James Hillman's book to me, are there any others that are helpful yet still relatively comprehensible (I had to read Being and Time at least 7 times to understand any of it)

I think it's good to have a certain Kritik in mind especially when learning to run it. Do you have any type of Ks or authors in mind?

My guess on the 9 that will be big next year:

1. Threat construction/Realism/Ks of Fear

2. Capitalism/Neo-liberalism

3. Coersion/Libertarianism

4. Foucault/Biopower

5. Ks of ethics/Nietzsche

6. Ks of media & representations (I'm sort of conflating these two)

7. Perhaps tech Ks (mostly carry over from this year)

8. State action bad/Institutional action bad

9. Race & priviledge arguments based on transportation.

Each of these seems to draw from a different literature base. To say they all fit in one might miss the point.

Solution 1: In terms of the most cards together....you might check out Achieving Our Country by Richard Rorty.

I believe Wolin also takes on a number of the K authors in addition to Nietzsche. I seem to remember him taking on Heidegger.

Christopher Norris writes good cards.

Solution 2: One other solution might be going through your existing K toolbox and finding where most of the cards come from.

Solution 3: Perhaps an even better strategy would be taking the college debate case list and finding a number of the cards in the "answer to critiques" area.

Solution 4: Here are some of the viable critical theory journals (although this focuses mostly on the K of international relations/realism) and sometimes discusses neo-liberalism

http://www.the3nr.co...udies-journals/