Sign in to follow this  
Denver_East_03

New Da To Cut?

Hey there cross-xers,

So I am an assistant debate coach and our nat quals tournament is in a couple of weeks and I am interested in cutting a new semi-generic disad.

I've been getting bored of hearing debris, weaponization, and politix, and want to try and work on something new and interesting with my students.

Any suggestions....?

Thanks

One that I think can be pretty strategic and many teams haven't heard before is the Space Disease DA. Basically saying that when we explore, especially moon missions or mars or something, we'll cut some space disease. Here is a 1NC to start you out:

No pandemic now

SCHLUETE,  ROGER, 2/09/2012 [http://www.bnd.com/2...a-mild-one.html, President of Humanist Society of Santa Barbara]

Q. Where's the flu this year? Of course, we are experiencing one of the warmest winters on record. But I'd better not say too much or else we'll have a pandemic!

-- K.S., of Collinsville

A. I'm sure I'd get an argument from a couple of ill colleagues, but, just like the weather, flu activity has been unseasonably mild this winter.

If you check the weekly flu surveillance maps at www.cdc.gov, you'll find no widespread outbreaks as of Jan. 28. Forty-eight states and New York City report that doctors are seeing "minimal" numbers of patients for flulike illnesses. Only Alabama reported "low" activity.

Some credit the warm winter for the sunny flu forecast. The thinking is that the flu virus loves cold temps and low humidity levels. Those conditions often see people huddled together more in homes and offices, which also may aid the bug's spread

A new disease can cause an epidemic

Bayona 04 (Manuel, Department of Epidemiology School of Public Health University of North Texas, "Disease Outbreak Investigation," college board.com, 2004, http://www.collegebo...se_outbreak.pdf)

There are many reasons why an outbreak occurs. However, four common circumstances lead to an