Cherry Creek Henthorn/Coffey (3-1)

Cherry Creek Clark/Ribovich (3-1)

Cherry Creek Heyse/Schlomann (3-1)

Region III (Metro Denver)

Kent Denver LaFontant/Moore (4-0)

Kent Denver Miller/____ (4-0)*

George Washington Pierce/Shen (3-1)

Littleton Thomas/Pittman (3-1)

*Sorry for not knowing Emma's partner's name; it's not Alex Patel, who's unable to compete at State this year.

• Upvote 1

I'm not sure that anyone in Colorado reads Cross-X, but I'll post about what happened at State because I think it's important that it be posted somewhere. The intent of this post is objective reporting rather than commentary. As a coach, I'll say that I think some of the decisions made by the grievance committee, tournament directors, and (especially) CHSAA officials were antithetical to the educational purpose of debate. If you'd like to discuss, I'd be happy to do so in private; you know how to reach me.

Despite a small field, there were nine breaks:

Cherry Creek Clark/Ribovich

Cherry Creek Herbst/Schulze

Cherry Creek Heyse/Schlomann

Fairview Piper/Conway

Fort Collins Westerman/Graziano

George Washington Pierce/Shen

Greeley Central (sorry, I didn't get their names)

Kent Denver LaFontant/Moore

Kent Denver Miller/Kolberg

Seven teams drew byes to quarterfinals. A partial octafinals round was held on Friday night between Fairview and Fort Collins, which Fairview won. Seven debaters who had also broken attended the round: the four debaters from Kent, the two debaters from Greeley Central, and one debater from George Washington. The round was stopped after the 1NC due to concerns that notes were being taken in round on paper and on electronic devices, which violates CHSAA's rules. All observers were asked to leave the room and further observation was prohibited.