Im_Thinking

CX vs LD vs PF?

I am a hs sophomore policy debater on my school's varsity team. I have gone to camp twice (GDI novice, and then SDI 4wk) and after my first tournament of the school year, I am finding that I can't stand CX.

It isn't that I don't love debating.... Last year was fun because novices just weren't that good, didn't talk too fast, and there wasn't as much jargon because nobody understood it anyways. There was less work because our coach did our files. We won all the time and it felt great to win and to be a part of a community. I love my team, and I love my name in the school paper when I win. I also liked the topic last year because I think poverty is an interesting topic. I don't care about military presence that much, and in policy the arguments about war don't even have anything to do with logic or common knowledge, but a whole bunch of stuff that crazy people write on their blogs. I hate all the jargon and the fact that policy has very little real world application.

Last year my team ran this ind of k/performance aff which I thought was fun, and I'm finding that I find actual policy affs really boring. My tournament yesterday, either went 2-4 or 3-3 (not sure) an that is WITH a BYE! I haven't been reading a lot or anything because I have no time or motivation to do so. The coaches say I need to do debate an hour a day at home, but the thought of it makes me want to shoot myself. I want to argue about things that have real world application. I want to sound smart when I talk to older people about my debate topics. I don't want to spend my time debating CPs and DAs and weird K authors and all these weird words like "ontology first" and whatever. I just want to argue, and make smart logical arguments about things that have real world application, and things I care about.