Sign in to follow this  
lp

Travel restrictions, traditionalist alternatives, etc.

I've been thinking about how policy debate has evolved or devolved in recent years in certain Midwestern states. Three questions in particular:

1) How have de facto and de jure travel restrictions helped and/or hurt policy debate (qualitatively, quantitatively, whatever you choose) in places like Kansas, Missouri, Colorado, and South Dakota? In states where the restrictions have been loosened, what's the result?

2) How has the introduction of Public Forum affected debate in those states, and other, more traditional, policy states? When PF was introduced, many assumed that it would not draw much in such states, that it wouldn't be "needed." I think I have some knowledge of how that's panned out, but I'd like to hear more.

3) How has a "limited season" for policy debate (e.g., first semester only) helped and/or hurt policy debate.

I have no axe to grind here, and have no desire to provoke a debate culture war -- I've just been thinking about these questions and would like to hear some perspectives.

I'm also thinking back to the Classic Debate experiment in Minnesota some years back - it seemed quite promising at first and then fizzled a bit?

Many thanks.

1) How have de facto and de jure travel restrictions helped and/or hurt policy debate (qualitatively, quantitatively, whatever you choose) in places like Kansas, Missouri, Colorado, and South Dakota? In states where the restrictions have been loosened, what's the result?

The travel restrictions have a negative impact on a small number of extremely high-achieving teams who have maximized their ability to accrue educational benefits from debate within the 500-mile limits. Many teams believe this applies to them, but few really cannot find the opportunities to grow as debaters within these limitations.