Sign in to follow this  
lp

Traditionalist alternatives, travel restrictions, et al.

I've been thinking about how policy debate has evolved or devolved in recent years in certain Midwestern states. Three questions in particular:

1) How have de facto and de jure travel restrictions helped and/or hurt policy debate (qualitatively, quantitatively, whatever you choose) in places like Kansas, Missouri, Colorado, and South Dakota? In states where the restrictions have been loosened, what's the result?

2) How has the introduction of Public Forum affected debate in those states, and other, more traditional, policy states? When PF was introduced, many assumed that it would not draw much in such states, that it wouldn't be "needed." I think I have some knowledge of how that's panned out, but I'd like to hear more.

3) How has a "limited season" for policy debate (e.g., first semester only) helped and/or hurt policy debate.

I have no axe to grind here, and have no desire to provoke a debate culture war -- I've just been thinking about these questions and would like to hear some perspectives.

I'm also thinking back to the Classic Debate experiment in Minnesota some years back - it seemed quite promising at first and then fizzled a bit?

Many thanks.

I can only speak to your second question-regarding public forum.

In my experience, and from observations I've made around the Nebraska community, I have noticed a very noticeable and damning trade-off between Policy and pf.

Since pf is easier to teach and coach, when former debate coaches (many of which saw constant TOC qualifiers and even finalists) at high schools in Nebraska began to retire or relocate, they were replaced by coaches who in many instances knew nothing of debate. As a result, these coaches took up the pf format in place of the much more technical and difficult format of policy.