topspeaker70

Of Weak Reids and Pyrric Victories

GAME OVER. The Democratic Party will be gone - at least as a major political force - in 18 months.

C'est pire qu'un crime; c'est une faulte.

Sad, sad, sad...

• Downvote 1

The Democratic Party will be gone as a major political force?

Hyperbole, much?

I wish it were. The Democrats survived 1994, and the Democrats survived 1968-72, but I fear that this time they've shot themselves once too often. Moreover, I fear they suffer from the implicit assumption you have made - that they have some sort of "guarantee" of their future existence.

I'm sure the Whigs - not to mention moderate and liberal Republicans - and Ross Perot's Reform Party - felt exactly the same way.

(Though I'm not an expert in political parties,) I don't think a precedent exists, anywhere, of a multiparty democracy as entrenched as the one currently established in the US (I could option to terminate this sentence here) devolving into single-party statehood, particularly when the other party is as disorganized as the contemporary GOP. Will the GOP make gains in 2010? Yes. Will those gains be substantial? Yes, I think so - on a good night, the Republicans might take back both houses of Congress, where the Dems hold large majorities. Is the Democratic Party finished? Hell no.

I'm intrigued to hear your argument, though.

Just to clarify: I did not consider the Democratic Party to be "a major political force" during the period 2001-2007. It became a force again after the 2006 elections, and only because the Bush/Cheney Administration was so UNBELIEVEABLY bad.

In my view, neither "major" Party in the USA is a "major political force" unless it controls either one of the three branches of the USFG, OR a majority of the 50 Governorships.

Let's see what happens - as I say - I hope and pray that I am 100% WRONG on this...