Sign in to follow this  
Chaos

Flowing

I'm a slow writer, and have problems writing as fast as my opponents can spread.

Anyone have any advice?

Same, majorly. Help would be major appreciated.

Shorthand or what? What do you use?

Flow on a laptop. There's a lot of good excel spreadsheet templates floating around out there, and you can customize it with macros to enhance the convenience. Plus, you never have to worry about running out of room on the paper.

Flow on a laptop. There's a lot of good excel spreadsheet templates floating around out there, and you can customize it with macros to enhance the convenience. Plus, you never have to worry about running out of room on the paper.

Agreed and also the flow will always be nice neet and organized, and as mentioned before the huge advantage of not runnign out of room is a great thing when trying to write out your rebbutal speeches.

Also if you dont want to use the computer then i would suggest doing some simple flowing drills such as get someone to get a deck of cards and have them read thorugh the entire deck and as he is doing this then just right down the card.

But yes, use shorthand. Develop your own that you and your partner can both read is best. To me it is easier to use paper for organizational purposes during your speech. I have problems scrolling efficiently on a laptop, but I doubt that would be an issue after you do it several times

Flow the author/date first then the tag- it's easier to remember the tag than the author/date, so while the speaker is spreading the card, you'll be writing the tag. It actually does wonders.

Guest Andrew.

don't flow author/ date. don't flow the 1ac/ 1nc. flow just enough so that you can identify the arg; you don't need to write down whole sentences or even whole words.

clifford is kinda right. Flow as little as you need to remember the arg/author and date if relevant to the particular arg