Sign in to follow this  
pretzellogic91

I forsee massive uniqueness problems...

With the exception of radical ideas/kritikal affs, how are most cases/disads going to be unique this year??

(Maybe this is a total novice question, sorry if it is. But I see this being a big issue about the poverty topic)

i suppose it would depend on the nature of your disad links. i have no idea what amount of social services from the fg exist now, but considering that disads win plenty of debates on the alternative energy topic despite massive status quo ae incentives, i wouldn't worry too much.

Like Haz said, after the stimulus bill that included large alternative energy funds last fall, there were uniqueness problems for a lot of DAs. It just encouraged perception-based DAs, time-sensitive DAs, or DAs that are specific enough to the aff not to link to other alternative energy projects. Its not like people just stopped winning on DAs after the stimulus passed.

Also, having current social services works to make some affs non-inherent just as much as they hurt uniqueness on DAs.

Those uniqueness issues also push negs to put more emphasis on:

1) counterplans to generate uniqueness

2) critiques

3) case turns and solvency debate so that any risk of a disad would merit a neg. ballot.

4) running disads that turn the case (which means more link = more risk of case turn)

Uniqueness isn't as important if your counterplan solves 90, 95, or 99% of the case harms.

Also, some judges evaluate issue specific uniqueness--so even though Bush didn't have political capital overall--he had political capital on the issue in the impact scenario. This way if you have specific, top level uniqueness--you can make that more important than other forms of uniqueness.

On a side note: I'm curious how more linear disads like social control will work out. I hate seeing debates come down to uniqueness arguments vs. each and every violation = neg ballot arguments.

Edited by nathan_debate