Sign in to follow this  
greenbluepurple

New Debate Program

Hi, I am the captian of a VERY recently formed debate/forensics team at my school. In fact, we have only been around for this year and I am one of just two people currently doing policy debate. We do have three more recruits for next year (yay!) but our team is still rather small. I have very little experience and I was wondering if anyone out there had some suggestions for recources to help us get our program up and running. I really want to keep debate at our school, but to do that we need to be sucessful. And besides, the more sucessful we are, the bigger our budget is :). If anyone has any recources, book suggestions, tips, ideas, etc that they think would help I would be glad to hear them!

• Upvote 1

Look around in the forums to help you. The Alternative Energy forum has a lot of discussion and links to articles about next year's topic. For books, we have a forum on critique literature. Use the search function if you need something specifically. People on cross-x.com and the entire debate community in general are very generous. That's why even small schools have been able to do well in debate because most of the recourses are avalible to everyone. If you have any specific questions, just ask.

It can be hard starting out a new program since you don't have anyone to learn from. I would suggest just reading some of the discussions people have and learning about it. Look at some of the virtual debates. That can give you a good picture of what to expect of debate, especially when you get out to debate on the national circuit (if you guys decide to go there). I would suggest looking at some debate videos too. YouTube has some, but there are other places. Here's a link to some lectures: http://debate.uvm.edu/policyvideo.html. Most people go to camp to hear lectures, but these are very comprehensive. I hope this helps. Good luck!