jimpeterson

"Demand" Affs

I have seen a few affs in which the plantext is phrased "Thus, we demand that the USFG do x". What is the benefit of this, and how doesit compare to traditional fiat-oriented plantexts?

I'm cutting a K aff for this year and was curious about how I may want to use this.

Thanks.

• Upvote 1

I've never run it and I'm no expert on it, but it's a way of separating the aff from the state to avoid all those statist and biopower links. If the aff recognizes that they aren't roleplaying as the federal government but instead acting as autonomous individuals, it gives them a way to spike out of links that claim any sort of statist behavior.

• Upvote 1

Einstein is correct. I wouldn't do it because you can prove abuse on T because they have to defend all parts of the topic, and the USFG is one of those parts.

Unless they roll with "Resolved means we must be resolved". Then they've pretty much just won the debate.

While what msacko points out may be a reason not to do it, it's also something most teams running a we demand aff are prepared for.

Generally a large part of the aff strategy is criticizing everything (including T) and making a lot of (possibly carded) framework arguments. The only thing I don't like about these affs is that the debate is rarely about the substance of the case; more often than not it boils down to framework or T. This can still be interesting in the instance of Ks of T, carded framework arguments, and critical advantages cross-applied to the framework debate; it's just not the path I think people should knowingly and purposefully force the debate onto. I realize that is not the purpose of writing a we demand aff (for most people) but most people running one know that's what happens.

Jeff and I ran a "Thus, we stand resolved that the United States Federal Government should..." aff. Some teams ran framework. We answered it.