kelsinator

Prolonged Speaking Tips

Hey everyone, I'm a novice going to my first real tournament friday and saturday. I'm used to partner debating, and in this, it will be all me, the whole time. I have 3 debates back to back friday night, and 5 saturday.. I'm really nervous that I might lose my voice, I have a bit of a cold..

Do you have any tips for speaking for long periods of time? Foods to avoid, foods to eat?

I've already packed my cough drops and water bottle =)

Thanks so much!

don't eat/drink anything dairy. also, drink a ton of water, and only water, it not only helps keep your voice intact, it will also help with the cold. good luck!

i usualy drink a red bull before a tournament and one about half way through, with a few mountain dews in between, but i don't think that will help you much. try dayquil and have some chloroseptic spray with you and yea drink lots o water

I speak more loudly/get with more emotion than i should... people often mistake me for beliving all of my args... anyways i just like to pretend i do for the round. But anyways... As a result my voice starts to go even after one round. But, Drinking as much water as i can allows me to keep it for the tournament, so drink drink drink! and nothing shall be a problem.

i usualy drink a red bull before a tournament and one about half way through, with a few mountain dews in between, but i don't think that will help you much. try dayquil and have some chloroseptic spray with you and yea drink lots o water

why you're not fast. you're ionia speed.

try dayquil and have some chloroseptic spray

NO. these coat the vocal chords and slow you down.

moreover - warm, unsweetened (green) tea is best for you. not only does it keep your voice intact, it will help w/ your cold and ease digestion, etc., etc., etc....

brennan

warm, unsweetened (green) tea is best for you. not only does it keep your voice intact, it will help w/ your cold and ease digestion