Sign in to follow this  
topspeaker70

"Rocky Balboa" Does Debate, or Preliminary Thoughts Re: Africa Topic, Pt I

I knew that if I was serious about "getting back into" debate, I would have to accept the fact that many of my ideas, theories, concepts, etc. are going to be dismissed as "quaint," and/or archaic, if not ridiculed as world-class stupid. So I might as well start taking my lumps now.

As I wrote for another thread, today was the first day of my research into the Africa topic. I am PUMPED about it for a lot of reasons. I've just started, and I've gone through two reams of paper and a $60 printer cartridge. So I want to share some of my thoughts.

As I do, please remember that I am a frail old man who is blind in one eye, and I am responsible for the support of my teenage daughter and a very cute dog. If that pathetically-lame attempt to exploit sympathy doesn't work for you, also keep in mind that I am a licensed attorney, and intentional infliction of emotional distress and defamation of character are actionable torts. So, if and after you read this, you should exercise some discretion in how much you flame me. ;)

At the outset, although I have never been to Sub-Saharan Africa ("SSA") and my views are based solely upon academic research, it seems to me that the region is hell on Earth.

I don't want to get into a Sam Kennison-style rant here, but you name a social evil, SSA has got it TO THE MAX: bone-crushing poverty; an almost limitless assortment of diseases (bacteriological AND viral, including, but not limited to, AIDS, Ebola, and the dreaded Avian [bird] Flu); incompetent, corrupt, primitive, repressive and sometimes-genocidal governments; inadequate natural resources [especially clean water];pervasive illiteracy; and - last but certainly not least - virtually no infrastructure at all.

Then factor in that the weather generally sucks, and - according to some folks at least - global warming is going to make things a helluva lot worse.