Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
The Spork

toc quals

Recommended Posts

I believe it counts as a second (or third, etc.) bid if you got one the regular way, but you can't qualify with 2 ghost bids.

 

 

Edit: Really? Unsigned neg rep for this post?

  • Upvote 4
  • Downvote 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I believe it counts as a second (or third, etc.) bid if you got one the regular way, but you can't qualify with 2 ghost bids.

 

 

Edit: Really? Unsigned neg rep for this post?

 

I believe this is true--although I don't know about not being able to qualify with 2 ghost bids, as I've never seen a team that only had 2 ghost bids and no normal bids.

 

But I know for sure that if your ONLY bid is a ghost bid, you CANNOT apply for an at-large--if you have a ghost bid and a regular bid, you are qualified.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I believe this is true--although I don't know about not being able to qualify with 2 ghost bids, as I've never seen a team that only had 2 ghost bids and no normal bids.

 

But I know for sure that if your ONLY bid is a ghost bid, you CANNOT apply for an at-large--if you have a ghost bid and a regular bid, you are qualified.

 

GDS BB applied for an at large last year with only a ghost bid and got it (probably more beacuse of whiskey than because of rules though).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
GDS BB applied for an at large last year with only a ghost bid and got it (probably more beacuse of whiskey than because of rules though).

 

U inform me of these tricks to getting an at large now RJ, would've helped when we sent in our app....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I believe this is true--although I don't know about not being able to qualify with 2 ghost bids, as I've never seen a team that only had 2 ghost bids and no normal bids.

 

But I know for sure that if your ONLY bid is a ghost bid, you CANNOT apply for an at-large--if you have a ghost bid and a regular bid, you are qualified.

 

that's not true stephen - a ghost bid is exactly equivalent to a regular bid. you can apply for an at large with a ghost bid.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's only one mention of ghostbids on the website: "A team or a LD debater must win at least one elimination round to be eligible for a "ghost bid." For example, if a tournament breaks at the double-octas level and is a TOC qualifier at the octos level, if two people or teams from the same school met in octos round, a ghost bid would be awarded. If a tournament breaks at the octos level and is a TOC qualifier at the quarters level, if two people or teams from the same school met in the quarters, a ghost bid would be awarded."

 

and this doesn't say anything about not being able to apply with just a ghost bid, the at-large section just says you need one bid. Check for yourself at http://www.uky.edu/Provost/ChellgrenCenter/Debate/champions.htm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think there's a couple small tournaments missing here...like Watertown (SD)...I know Brookings closed out finals, so they got both the bids

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Marquette didn't get one, either... we're also on the waitlist.

 

Congratulations to Sklaroff and Waizer and Dallas Jesuit, though!

 

~Bill

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
reputational politics killls me- im so broken =/

 

(we're also waitlisted)

 

QFA. Bah.

 

Congrats to both Edgemont and Dallas Jesuit. Having seen both of you this year, you definitely deserved to be in that mix. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

karina and tyler from cps got theirs too!!

 

but kailash seems to have returned to debate, so karina will probably go wih him.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...