commiejohn

WHAT IS A KRITIK?

I'm brand new to policy(I'm a fromer L-Der) and my partner is a first year varsity we've survivied the first two tournie's having only hit one kritik but still we have no idea what to do against a kritik or exactly how to run one. I think i understand the basics, it seems like it's essientially the same as an l-d arguement but i dont understand the exacts likethe parts and things like perm and such. Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

Welcome to cross-x commiejohn. :)

In the future, if you have a question that is likely to have been answered before, please do a search before posting a new thread. This helps us keep the forums free of redundant clutter.

To answer you question, there are two particularly good articles online, available here:

http://debate.uvm.edu/code/037.html

http://groups.wfu.edu/debate/MiscSites/DRGArticles/GartensteinPrestes1997RenewableEnergy.htm

Speaking from the perspective of an LDer (I do Policy and LD), you will love the philosophical and value-based focus K's bring to policy debate once you learn how to run and respond to them.

a position that takes a stance that questions assumptions with some set of tools to arouse some sort of implication from said assumptions. sometimes an alternative way of approaching the object in question is offered.

or a non-unique disad.

so then i think I'm starting to understand K's now but I'm not sure what I want to run. The rest of my school's policy team are running K's and me and my partner aren't sure what to run is there any good "philosophical and value-based" K's to run that are somewhat easy understand but not easy to beat?

so then i think I'm starting to understand K's now but I'm not sure what I want to run. The rest of my school's policy team are running K's and me and my partner aren't sure what to run is there any good "philosophical and value-based" K's to run that are somewhat easy understand but not easy to beat?