debatedick15

I need some help with IARs

I really need some help with IAR's, but my partner and I haven't been able to find a method that makes my IAR's any better. Hopefully the CX community could give me some suggestions as to what to practice to make my IAR's better?

Thanks

Well, I can't say I have a lot of experience, but most of the judges (VSS) liked how I didn't try to go for everything. I would bring the debate back down to size. Essentially an analytical for the (usually) 3 key issues.

Um...not going for everything in the 1st affirmative rebuttal? You mean dropping things? I hope we aren't talking about the same thing...

If you are indeed talking about the 1st affirmative rebuttal, it shouldn't be that hard to make a good 1AR if the negative made any arguements in the negative block. Just write down everything they say, in order, and then in the 1AR do it line-by-line. Pace yourself if you have lots to cover, give yourself 10 seconds per arguement or whatever is a good time slot to refute everything. Just don't repeat yourself. If you have lots to cover, it is best to try not to read any evidence, but instead extend evidence previously read to refute whatever point you need it to refute, and tell why that evidence is better. Structure and being organized in your responses is the best way to go about it. The arguements just fill in by themselves.